Cooking with a new purpose

Many hours  of The Sole of Ten Outfits  (moi)  is spent in the kitchen!  When I was a child I watched Julia Child every Saturday morning on KQED and I told myself I was going to cook like her someday.  I attended  Home Chef Cooking School in Palo Alto , ended up working there as a Kitchen Manager, and an Instructor. I also worked at Sunset Magazine in Menlo Park  thus hours and hours of being in the kitchen, resulted in being a good chef! Repetition is what makes perfection and to this day I owe all those hours and still counting to being the cook I am today.  A damn good one!  I always say to my clients at Ten Outfits you have to know the rules first before you can break them.  This is the same with cooking; understand the basics then start tweeking and evolving in the kitchen in the direction you want to head.

My direction these days is in healthy, gluten free, dairy free cooking. I was tested for   food allergies and my list of restrictions was loud and clear.  I had to change a few habits. Unfortunately I have had digestive issues my entire life and two weeks ago I decided to investigate and then resolve my problem areas.

On that note my blog post is going to concentrate on my love for cooking for today, and sharing recipes,

I always have a strategic force behind cooking and the first step is going thru all my torn out recipes from Gourmet, Food and Wine, and Bon Appetit and then all my cooking books and tag what I want to try.  Second I write out the “wish list” and ingredients so I am prepared for the grocery shopping trip.003

This particular trip consists of Lee’s International Market , Whole Foods, and Trader Joes in Tucson.  So far 2 out of 3, I will go to the fabulous Whole Foods on Tuesday.  It is so new and fresh it feels “cool to be there and of course I will be meeting a friend for lunch. So many choices from the prepared food section how can I go wrong?020

Lee’s International Market is so fun I give myself an hour to walk down every aisle.  I see food products that are mysterious and can’t imagine what I would do with them. Such as the picture below :Jackfruit”018 I am glad I have a specific list, otherwise it would be like an Ikea visit without a purpose – Fun but if you don’t go home with anything you feel disappointed.021

I feel a surge of excitement trying new recipes, I always try to challenge myself with something out of my comfort zone.  This week it consisted of Chickpea Panelles, 014 Mojo Rojo Sauce,Banana Ice Cream with Salty Almonds

016 012and a Simple Syrup for my Vodka. Yes all Wine, Beer and Spirits are off the list with the exception of Vodka. Vodka has never  been my favorite, but I am one to try anything at least once. I wasn’t pleased with the Lemon, Rosemary Infused Vodka Martini, It tasted like a cough drop. I also didn’t like the Chickpea Panelles, the texture was odd,and the taste bland, The Mojo Rojo Sauce is to die for and so is the Banana Ice Cream with Nuts.  Until the next recipe unfolds…005

007

2 thoughts on “Cooking with a new purpose

  1. Pingback: Cooking with a new purpose | tenoutfits

  2. You are so daring, Monica and I appreciate your giving a thumbs up or thumbs down to the results of trying others recipes. I often will think of ways to tweak something differently or duplicate what I have had in restaurants. But I think you have to be pretty dedicated, as you are, to come up with the wonderful dishes you do. The editor of our local newspaper here in Pagosa is a gourmet cook and writes a weekly column about his cooking, including a lot of humor. You would love it. I definitely will try Lee’s International when we get back. There is certainly nothing like that here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

