Cooking with a Purpose Continued

Lots of new recipes and very happy with the results.  I broke down and bought Gwyneth Paltrow’s cook book – it includes  gluten free and vegan recipes.  I also am using the Gourmet Prescription cookbook which has been a staple in the kitchen for years.  Julia Child Master Volumes are on the sidelines at the moment.020

Eggplant (from my garden) and Red Pepper Ragu over Polenta. No recipe, just made it up.  In lieu of the normal  polenta additions of butter, pepper, parmesan, milk, I added olive oil, herbs, cayenne pepper  instead and it was still delicious.  These changes give me hope that recipes can be tweaked from their classic state and still be delicious.025

Seared Salmon over Sauteed Spinach with Cumin Scented Quinoa and Black Rice.  This was absolutely satisfying and delicious.  Easy to make as well005

007I made Mojo Rojo last week, so I made Mojo Verde this week.  Lots of cilantro and I accidently over salted so I added another bunch of cilantro to over compensate the error.  I am currently a little heavy handed with the salt these days because the pepper has been removed from my diet.  NO more Ying and Yang— just Ying!  I have been using the Mojo Verde on everything!  Tortillas, Rice, eggs, sandwiches .  Yum yum- another home run.003

006Veggie Burger???  How can they call this a veggie burger when it is a black bean and rice burger? 005 There are no veggies in it?  In spite of the title it is delicious and I have decided to continue my search to make the best veggie burger ever–with veggies.! 017 I paired the veggie (black bean) burger with a Fried Egg, Spinach, Tortilla and  Mojo Verde Sauce and Romesco sauce. (recipe follows)007  Breakfast on the Patio with Steve and Bernadette after a Spin Class and Swim was the perfect Sunday morning.004

023Back in the day when I catered, I made so many Paella Valenciana’s for party’s along with Romesco Sauce and Roasted Potatoes.  I always used my trustee recipe from Cesar in  Berkeley which is mind blowing delicious, but with not as much time I tried a new recipe and it wasn’t as good, but still worthy of the table. 003 I remember when I catered for Elevations in Menlo Park a favorite sandwich I made was Grilled Eggplant, Mozzarella and Romesco on Francese Roll.  Never were there leftovers!

Shaved Asparagus- Good but I would never make again.  Vegetable Peeler and lots of  time!008  I paired it with two dishes:

Roast Chicken w/Kimchi Smashed Potatoes.  I normally don’t roast chicken or cut up a whole chicken but here we go with both tasks!  The chicken came out delicious, tender and juicy.   Kimchi is fermented cabbage with spices and apparently on the hot list of healthy upcoming must have  ingredients. It was so tasty and added a punch to the potatoes.  Smashing the potatoes and letting the chicken, and kimchi juices absorb in the potatoes made it hard not to have seconds.  My husband could not stop saying how great it was!010

024Brown Rice Pasta with Shaved Asparagus, Peas ,Endive, Parsley, with Goat Cheese and Prosciutto. (made it up)  First time having a Gluten free pasta and it was hard to tell the difference.  What a relief since I love pasta.  The dish was great!  This Gluten Free Diet isn’t so bad after all.014

4 thoughts on “Cooking with a Purpose Continued

  1. Pingback: Cooking with a Purpose Continued | tenoutfits

  2. They all look delicious and nutritious, Monica. You can tell when someone is eating well or not – you glow. Wish I could say I like eggplant but it is one of those vegetables I can’t eat. And I have no doubt you will make the supreme veggie burger. That would be fun to experiment with as far as I am concerned.

    Like

      • You make vegan and gluten free dishes that are four stars worthy. It looks so healthy and lovely as well. I am actually proud that the majority of my shopping cart is taken up with vegetables and fruits. Keep this wonderful post up, Monica.

        Like

Leave a Reply

